Sometimes my life makes sense

by whitewirestudio

I just adore Carrie Brownstein. From the feminist rock band Sleater-Kinney, to her role on NPR’s All Songs Considered where I always find myself giggling while listening (alone and with headphones), and most recently for her Monitor Mix blog which helped me find myself… just today.

With today’s post, What Your Birth Date Says About You, she says:

Yesterday, while recording the Spring Preview show with my All Songs Considered cohorts, we began discussing what songs were at the top of the charts on our respective birth dates. I had never heard of my song. It’s Andy Kim’s “Rock Me Gently.”

If Andy Kim’s hit song says anything about me, it’s that I’ve been a contrarian since birth. Most readers of this blog know that I hate my rock gentle. And now that I think about it, nor have I ever rocked anyone gently.

You are welcome to participate in this silly game as well by going to the site This Day In Music. Dissatisfied with the #1 on the U.S. charts? Try the Australian or U.K. charts instead!

So I played along.


